Restricted countries

Digital cards aren't accepted everywhere, find out where you can use yours here

Not all countries accept digital cards. If a merchant attempts to process a digital card in a blacklisted country, the transaction will be declined. These blacklists are enforced by a combination of OFAC and bank restrictions, they are out of Penny's control.

Why May Cards Be Declined In Certain Countries?

OFAC Restrictions

OFAC (the Office of Foreign Assets Control) is a U.S. government agency that is responsible for enforcing economic and trade sanctions against certain countries and individuals. These sanctions can restrict the ability of U.S. citizens and businesses to do business with these countries or individuals.

Bank Restrictions

Banks may have their own policies which restrict the use of digital cards in certain countries. These policies may be due to fraud concerns or other factors.


If you are unsure whether a virtual card will be accepted in a particular country, it is best to contact the merchant supplier or bank directly.

Current Geographic Sanctions

Currently, geographic sanctions have been imposed across various jurisdictions including:

  • Cuba
  • Iran
  • Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea)
  • Russia
  • Sudan (Darfur Region)
  • Syria
  • Ukraine regions of Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk